Kaiten Sushi

Whenever I tell people that I studied abroad in Tokyo, often the first thing they ask me is whether I ate sushi everyday. But when people in America think of sushi, they often think of this….

"Dragon" rolls from Sweet Mango, a sushi restaurant from my hometown in Philadelphia

“Dragon” rolls from Sweet Mango, a sushi restaurant from my hometown in Philadelphia

 …or designer, gourmet rolls, smothered in spicy mayo, tempura crumbs, and soy sauce. These are what we call maki, or sushi rolls. While Japan does serve these, they are often extremely simple, with only one or two ingredients and without all the fancy sauces that Americans love.

Instead, most sushi in Japan is the traditional nigiri (a piece of fish over rice) or plain sashimi (just the fish). While this seems boring compared to American standards, sushi making is definitely an art. Just watch the documentary Jiro Dreams of Sushi, and you’ll have a little insight into just how much time and effort chefs put into creating the perfect piece of sushi.

Tuna nigiri from the documentary Jiro Dreams of Sushi

Tuna nigiri from the documentary Jiro Dreams of Sushi

Sushi was always available in my local supermarket (which I can tell you was still 10x better than the sushi restaurants back home), and I passed a sushi-ya (sushi shop) every day on my commute back home. Although I never visited one of the more fancy sushi restaurants- where a dozen pieces of sushi can cost well over $350- I always had plenty of options.

Supermarket sushi from my local Japanese grocery store, Aeon

Supermarket sushi from my local Japanese grocery store, Aeon

However, my favorite place to eat sushi was always at kaiten sushi restaurants- more commonly known as conveyor belt sushi. Here, customers sit in booths with a conveyor belt rotating pass their tables, carrying small plates of nigiri and other goodies.

DSC_2529

At a kaiten sushi restaurant, you can expect to see a wide variety of basic nigiri, as well as a few westernized sushi rolls.

Fresh snow crab nigiri

Fresh snow crab nigiri

DSC_5874

Maki with shrimp, tuna, and salmon

Shrimp nigiri topped with avocado and fresh onion

Shrimp nigiri topped with avocado and fresh onion

DSC_2524

The plates travel covered by little plastic hoods, which also tell you what type of sushi is inside. When you want a plate, you simply pop the lid off and take the plate off the conveyor belt.

DSC_2506

Each table is equipped with a menu touch screen. If you want a specific type of sushi, or something else from the menu, simply select what you want and order it. Your dish will arrive on a red plate, which lets others know it belongs to someone, and the menu screen will light up once it approaches.

DSC_2507

You can even order things like noodles, chicken nuggets, french fries, and dessert! The chocolate cake was definitely our favorite.

A train of french fries

A train of specially ordered french fries for our table

Chocolate cake, anyone?

Chocolate cake, anyone?

The table also has soy sauce, wasabi, and matcha (powdered green tea) for the guests to enjoy. Here, everyone spoons a bit of tea into their cups and adds hot water from a spigot. It goes great with all the sushi!

DSC_2510

DSC_2527

DSC_5897

At the end of the meal, everyone stacks their plates and the waitress counts how many there are. At some sushi restaurants, each plate is a different color and a different price. At my favorite kaiten restaurant, each plate cost 125¥, or about $1.20 when I was there. Surprisingly, the most I ever spent was around $12! Not bad for ten plates, huh?

DSC_5896

DSC_2776

Although each kaiten sushi restaurant is different, my favorite had a small computer game guests could play at the end. Near the conveyor belt, there was a small slot that the guests could put their plates down to help clear the table. With every 5 plates that went through, the menu touch screen played a lottery game. This was a great way to see how many plates you actually ate, and even win small prizes! I won a cell phone charm, while my friends won little play pieces of sushi.

Cute cell phone charm!

Cute cell phone charm!

Plastic shrimp, anyone?

Plastic shrimp, anyone?

Conveyor belt sushi restaurants are gaining popularity in the US, particularly in New York, Philadelphia, Los Angeles, and other major cities. I’ve heard that there’s one in Boston now, but I haven’t had a chance to check it out yet.

What do you think? Would you ever try kaiten sushi? Let me know in the comments below!

DSC_5882

13 thoughts on “Kaiten Sushi

  1. I’ve unfortunately eaten Gas Station Sushi, so I could absolutely get down with the Kaiten conveyor belt sushi! Good article, I’ll have to check around Philadelphia for a kaiten den!

  2. I only ended up going to one kaiten place during my stay in Tokyo, but it was still awesome. The waitress calculating our final bills did so via an RFID gun that synched with chips embedded in the plates. 😛 Later on, after I took a brief sushi-making class, I made some of my own with tuna I bought from Tsukiji… it wasn’t quite as good as the pro’s efforts.
    I had no idea there was one of these in Philly… I’ll have to check it out some time.

    • That’s crazy! My kaiten sushi experience was nowhere near as high tech. I’m so jealous that you went to Tsukiji though…it sounded like the fish market was intense!

  3. It looks like a true adventure in eating and entertainment…without rude wait staff. Leave it to the Japanese to automate eating with “flare”.

  4. I love, love, love kaiten sushi. Great way for friends to gather around and try different things. Anyone know where the kaiten is in Philly? I haven’t been to one in awhile, and I’d make the 90 minute drive over there if I knew were one was.

    • I’ve heard that Pod in University City has one, but I think it’s just at their bar! I’m not sure if it’s still there though, so you might want to call ahead.

Leave a Reply

